Intelligence…

I think the world has a very narrow view of intelligence. I value IQ just as much as I do EQ.

I believe we often underplay the value of Emotional Intelligence in our approach to learning and education. In my own experience, growing up, IQ was often used as a measure to ones ability and capabilities.

And yes…

It plays a crucial part but there is so much incredible value in the…BALANCE

There is wisdom in the balance.

There is creativity in the balance.

There is flexibility in the balance.

Albert Einstein once said (and there may be contention in the actual phrasing, but I appreciate the sentiment nonetheless) “The true sign of intelligence is not knowledge, but imagination.” It articulates the heartbeat of intelligence and the creativity and balance that the perception of the word ‘intelligence’ requires.

We were created to be more than just our IQ, as humans we are whole beings with a multifaceted, complex  structure and make up. I attribute my intelligence to so much more and have learnt to appreciate the holistic being that gives life to my approach to viewing, grasping, and exploring that which is around me.

Leave a comment